  Best Practices for Prevention in SBHCs

Louisiana's Preventive Services Improvement Initiative
Screening for HIV/AIDS Using Rapid Testing

BACKGROUND  
HIV infection and AIDS remains a leading cause of mortality and morbidity in the United States. In order to prevent the spread of HIV/AIDS and foster early intervention, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) in September of 2006 revised their recommendation for HIV testing of adults and adolescents in health-care settings. It is now recommended that all patients aged 13-64 be screened routinely for HIV infection regardless of risk.
  
As of June 30th, 2007, a cumulative total of 26, 848 HIV/AIDS cases have been reported in Louisiana. Between January-December 2006, 19.8% of newly diagnosed cases of HIV in Louisiana occurred among adolescents aged 13-24.
  The rate of new HIV diagnoses follows a similar pattern.  The number of diagnoses in youth aged 13-24 has been steadily increasing since 2006. In 2010, new diagnoses in youth aged 13-24 accounted for almost a quarter of all new diagnoses, and is the only age group where the number of new diagnoses increased from 2009 to 2010. 5
CRITERIA

1.  
All students 13 years and older regardless of risk.  None of the rapid HIV testing devices have been approved for use in children <13 years of age. Children 12 years old and younger should be referred to a pediatrician for assessment of HIV infection.   
2.
All students seeking treatment for sexually transmitted infections (STIs) should be screened routinely for HIV during each visit for a new complaint consistent with an STI, regardless of whether the patient is known or suspected to have specific behavior risks for HIV infection and regardless of age.
3.
All patients with signs or symptoms consistent with HIV infection or an opportunistic illness characteristic of AIDS should be tested for HIV regardless of age.

FREQUENCY

1.
Screen all students age 13 or greater at least once. This can be done at any patient care visit.

2.
Test all students likely to be at high risk for HIV at least annually. 

Persons likely to be at high risk include:

· Students who are sexually active.
· Injection-drug users and their sex partners.
· Persons who exchange sex for money or drugs 

· Sex partners of HIV-infected persons

3.
Health-care providers should encourage patients and their prospective sex partners to be tested before initiating a new sexual relationship.

4.
Repeat screening of persons not likely to be at high risk for HIV should be performed on the basis of clinical judgment. 

5.
Persons known to be at high risk for HIV infection also should be advised of the need for periodic retesting and should be offered prevention counseling or referred for prevention counseling.  

CONSENT AND PRETEST INFORMATION 

1. Current Louisiana law does not require written consent for HIV testing. The SBHC uniform consent form which provides general consent for medical services is considered sufficient to encompass consent for HIV testing. 
2. Screening should be voluntary and undertaken with the student’s knowledge and understanding that HIV testing is planned. 

3. Patients should be informed orally or in writing that HIV testing will be performed.

4. Louisiana law requires that oral or written information be provided to the client and include an explanation of HIV infection and the meanings of positive and negative test results. 
5. The FDA requires that all patients having a rapid HIV test receive the “Subject Information” pamphlet produced by the manufacturer of the rapid test device prior to having a specimen collected for testing. An information pamphlet comes with each Oraquick Test Kit. In addition, written educational materials can be ordered through the Office of Public Health (OPH) HIV/AIDS Program (HAP) by going to: www.dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/page/928  and clicking on Prevention.  Additional written materials in English and Spanish can also be obtained by calling the Louisiana Statewide AIDS/STD Information Line at 1 (800) 992-4379 or 1 (800) 99 AIDS 9.  
6. At the time of the visit, patients should be offered an opportunity to ask questions and to decline testing (opt-out testing).

7. If a patient declines an HIV test, this decision should be documented in the medical record. 

8. Louisiana law requires that patients be offered the option of anonymous testing. If the student opts for anonymous testing, the SBHC must refer the student to a location where anonymous testing is done. 
9. Easily understood informational materials should be made available in the languages of the commonly encountered populations within the service area. The competence of interpreters and bilingual staff to provide language assistance to patients with limited English proficiency must be ensured. 
SCREENING TEST  

OraQuick (OraQuick ADVANCE Rapid HIV-1/2 Antibody Test) 

The OraQuick test is classified as a CLIA waived test and is available through the OPH HAP if SBHC medical staff have undergone the required ½ day HIV Testing for Healthcare Professionals training. Contact the HAP Clinical Testing Specialist or the HIV Training Coordinator for information on trainings at (504) 568-7474.  
If testing is being done through OPH, Rapid HIV testing using OraQuick should be conducted in accordance with the most current version of the OPH HAP’s HIV Testing that can be found at:  www.dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/page/928.  The HIV/AIDS Program (HAP) Click on  Prevention, go to HIV Rapid Testing Protocols and Forms  under Training and Education .
Reactive/preliminary positive rapid HIV test results are preliminary and must be confirmed before the diagnosis of HIV infection is established.  SBHCs should provide post-test counseling to all students with preliminary reactive tests. The student should be referred to early intervention medical services during post-test counseling of their preliminary positive result.  
CONFIRMATORY TESTING

Western Blot Blood Test 

COMMUNICATING TEST RESULTS
HIV post-test counseling is to be conducted in accordance with the HIV/AIDS Program (HAP) at www.dhh.louisiana.gov/indes.cfm/page/928.  
TREATMENT

HIV-infected persons should be referred for:

(1) Early Intervention Medical Care - promptly and that is consistent with the United States Public Health Service (USPHS) guidelines for management of HIV-infected persons. 

(2) Case Management
Active efforts are essential to ensure that HIV-infected patients are also linked to counseling, support, and prevention services as well.  

For a list of medical providers and different types of community resources by region, go to the HIV/AIDS Program website at:  www.dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/page/928.  The Delta Regional Aids Education and Training Center website (http://www.deltaaetc.org/) also provides a listing of HIV/AIDS Resources in Louisiana by region as well as clinician resources and training opportunities. 
PARTNER COUNSELING AND REFERRAL   

When HIV infection is diagnosed, patients should be encouraged to disclose their HIV status to their current sex partners and previous sex partners and recommend that these partners be tested for HIV infection. The Office of Public Health Disease Intervention Specialists (DIS) can assist patients by notifying, counseling, and providing HIV testing for partners without disclosing the patient's identity.  Providers should inform patients who receive a new diagnosis of HIV infection that they will be contacted by the health department staff for a voluntary interview to discuss notification of their partners. SBHC staff are not responsible for notifying partners. 
REPORTING

By law, every case of HIV (and any sexually transmitted disease) must be reported to the Office of Public Health in accordance with the requirements of the Louisiana Sanitary Code.  Refer to the HIV/AIDS Program (HAP) at www.dhh.louisiana.gov/indes.cfm/page/928 for details on reporting HIV infection. 
Special Considerations for Screening Adolescents

Providing information regarding HIV infection, HIV testing, HIV transmission, and implications of infection should be regarded as an essential component of the anticipatory guidance provided to all adolescents as part of primary care.
  Serving the adolescent population comes with its own unique challenges. While involvement of parents in an adolescent’s health care is desirable, Louisiana Law does not require parental consent for HIV testing of persons 13 and older. 
Before initiating HIV testing, providers may explore whether an adolescent can identify a trusting adult to confide in if a test were positive. (Lack of identification should not preclude testing). Patients with positive tests may be encouraged to inform their parents, or another adult, in order to develop a support system for continued care. While parental involvement is desirable for adolescents infected with HIV, health-care providers should attempt to respect an adolescent’s request for privacy.
  The provider must be particularly sensitive to the unique concerns of adolescents and also consider any extenuating circumstances when deciding whether to disclose information to persons outside of the health care team.  

LOUISIANA REVISED STATUTE 1300.13

§1300.13.  HIV-related testing; consent; exceptions

A.  Except as provided, specifically authorized, or required by a state or federal law, in the event that HIV diagnostic testing is offered to a person as part of a routine medical screening in health care settings, substance abuse treatment facilities, mental health treatment facilities, and correctional settings, the patient shall be informed orally or in writing that HIV testing shall be performed unless the patient declines or "opts out" of the testing.  Oral or written information shall include an explanation of HIV infection and the meanings of positive and negative test results, and the patient shall be offered an opportunity to ask questions.  Consent for HIV testing shall be incorporated into the patient's general informed consent for medical care on the same basis as are other screening or diagnostic tests; a separate consent form for HIV testing shall not be necessary.  If a patient declines testing, it shall be noted in the medical record.

B.  Community-based organizations that are funded by the office of public health to conduct HIV testing services will be required to follow all HIV testing protocols established by the HIV/AIDS Program of the office of public health.

C.  A patient requesting the performance of an HIV-related test shall be provided an opportunity to remain anonymous by the use of a coded system with no correlation or identification of the individual's identity to the specific test request or results.  In these instances the identifying information otherwise required by the Louisiana State Sanitary Code shall not be required.  A health care provider that is not able to provide HIV-related tests on an anonymous basis shall refer, at no extra charge to the individual seeking anonymity, such individual to a test site that provides anonymous testing.  The provisions of this Subsection shall not apply to inpatients in hospitals.

D.  If an individual tests positive for HIV infection, the individual shall be referred to a health care provider for appropriate HIV-related primary medical care.

E.  The provisions of Subsections A through D shall not apply to the performance of an HIV-related test:

(1)  By a health care provider or health care facility in relation to the procuring, processing, distributing, or use of a human body or human part, including organs, tissues, eyes, bones, arteries, blood, semen, or other body fluids, for use in medical research or therapy, or for transplantation to individuals, as provided in R.S. 40:1299.142.

(2)  For purposes of accredited scientific or medical research.  Any testing must be performed in such a manner that the identity of the test subject remains anonymous and may not be retrieved by any researcher unless specifically authorized.

(3)  On a deceased person, when the HIV-related test is conducted to determine the cause of death or for epidemiological purposes.

(4)  On any child taken into custody by the Department of Social Services, where department officials have cause to believe that the child has been infected with HIV.

(5)  On any child when the child's attending physician reasonably believes such test to be necessary in order to properly diagnose or treat the child's medical condition and documents such reason in the child's medical record, including all newborns whose mothers present for delivery without a diagnostic HIV test on record.

(6)  On any person who has been arrested, indicted, or convicted for the crimes of aggravated rape, forcible rape, simple rape, or incest when required by a court to undergo an HIV-related test.

F.  Repealed by Acts 2007, No. 153, §2.

Acts 1991, No. 1054, §1; Acts 2007, No. 153, §§1, 2.

(The following applies to physicians only.)
LOUISIANA REVISED STATUTE 1065.1 

§1065.1. Minor's consent for treatment of venereal diseases 
A. Consent to the provision of medical or surgical care or services by a hospital or public clinic, or to the performance of medical or surgical care or services by a physician, licensed to practice medicine in this state, when executed by a minor who is or believes himself to be afflicted with a venereal disease, shall be valid and binding as if the minor had achieved his majority. Any such consent shall not be subject to a later disaffirmance by reason of his minority. 

B. The consent of a spouse, parent, guardian or any other person standing in a fiduciary capacity to the minor shall not be necessary in order to authorize such hospital care or services or medical or surgical care or services to be provided by a physician licensed to practice medicine to such a minor. 

C. Upon the advice and direction of a treating physician, or, in the case of a medical staff, any one of them, a physician or member of a medical staff may, but shall not be obligated to, inform the spouse, parent or guardian of any such minor as to the treatment given or needed, and such information may be given to, or withheld from the spouse, parent or guardian without the consent and over the express objection of the minor. 

D. No physician licensed to practice medicine in this state shall incur civil or criminal liability in connection with any examination, diagnosis and treatment authorized by this section except for negligence. 

Added by Acts 1970, No. 41,§ 1.
Reviewed annually 
Effective July 1, 2008  
Revised July 1, 2014
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